23min of Ska : Midway

Here we are at the half way mark of the first year of “23min of Ska” and I think it has went pretty well. Originally I was only going to be doing one episode a month, so this would be the end, but no, I had to go and double it up and spread the ska love far and wide! Speaking of love and ska I can’t believe this is the first time I’ve worked the Skatalites into an episode! They are way too good! And Half Past Two I’ve been waiting to play for people since I first saw them at the LA 3 Floors of Ska a few years ago! All in all, this first 6 months of “23min of Ska” has taught me one thing, you can only prepare so much. This very podcast only contains 2 of the songs I was originally going to put in it! It was almost completed and I had 2min left to fill, that’s when things went out the window. One song didn’t follow the last so well, a few were too short and ended up being better picks so what to delete? It went like this for a while and I ended up with this, far superior than what I’d been intended to send out! Once again, I hope you enjoy the music and you share your enjoyment with others.

If you’re in a ska band and would like to be featured or if you know some music that you think I should hear for future inclusion, please email me at radjose[at]gmail[dot]com! I’ll play most anything.

You can also subscribe to the podcast by going to your advanced tab on iTunes, then select “subscribe to podcast…” and entering this: http://23minofska.podomatic.com/rss2.xml into the box that opens. But you know, there’s always downloading it. Oh, quick mention, I’ll be out of town on the 23rd this month, so I won’t be able to post the next episode on my site until a few days later, but if you subscribe to the podcast you should get it on time… just saying is all.

Fan of both ska and 7″ records? Check out this site

Leave a Reply

