23min of Ska : Alive

If you’re into ska you know the very best thing is ska done live. I can honestly say that I’ve never left a ska show unhappy or disappointed and I can say for a fact that some of the best concerts I’ve ever seen were ska shows! For these reasons I knew that sooner or later I’d be doing a show of all live music, that and a few of these songs are only available live! I’m glad to’ve found “Man in Disguise” played by the band that wrote it! Johnny Socko has covered this for years, but it is nice to hear it from Bop (Harvey) who were working ska in their sound long before some of the rest of these bands even hit the scene. The ever name changing Stretch Magnifico was one of the earliest bands I saw live and you just can’t beat the Toasters! I close it out with the most classic of all Reel Big Fish’s songs. Ska, best when done live, there’s nothing to doubt about that.

If you’re in a ska band and would like to be featured or if you know some music that you think I should hear for future inclusion, please email me at radjose[at]gmail[dot]com! I’ll play most anything.

You can also subscribe to the podcast by going to your advanced tab on iTunes, then select “subscribe to podcast…” and entering this: http://23minofska.podomatic.com/rss2.xml into the box that opens. You can also live it up and download it.

2 responses to “23min of Ska : Alive

  1. Love the live bop (harvey) They did some reunion shows last Nov, and this summer that where awesome. bop still sounded great.

    • I got into them through Johnny Socko and became a big fan. The live album is all I have to go on concerning their shows, but man, they sound like a huge fun good time! Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

