23min of Ska : Season’s Open

Well look at that, a new year and a new episode to kick off the 2011 session of 23min of Ska. We start it off with a classic from the Stubborn All-Stars before getting to another classic from Madness. Now I won’t lie, I’ve just recently gotten into Sonic Boom Six, and yeah I know its late, but I’m making up for lost time here! Westbound Train and After Hours are 2 bands that just make me happy as hell and I’m happy to include these 2 songs here for you to enjoy as well. We close out w/ a Stretch (Armstrong/Magnifico/Band) song that has always been close to my heart. The first and only time I met and saw the band I picked up their EP because I was short on cash. The EP had an early version of “Household Sponge” on it, I liked it, but it lacked the awesome keyboard action that I’d come to associate with them. When the new album “Armstrong” came out I was ecstatic to hear the new version complete w/ the kick ass keyboards, so I guess that worked out personally for me. Thanks everyone of listening, downloading and spreading the word! This podcast has really grown since I put the first one up a year ago today, so thanks!

If you’re in a ska band and would like to be featured or if you know some music that you think I should hear for future inclusion, please email me at radjose[at]gmail[dot]com! I’ll play most anything.

You can also subscribe to the podcast by going to your advanced tab on iTunes, then select “subscribe to podcast…” and entering this: http://23minofska.podomatic.com/rss2.xml into the box that opens. Or you know, download it!

Leave a Reply

