Beat the Dealer : Heather’s 23 Minutes

A few months ago I was raising money for the Big Ska Gamble on KickStarter, and one of the prizes was putting together an episode of “23min of Ska”. I wasn’t sure if these were going to even sell! Imagine my shock that they sold, quickly! Also imagine my shock to find that my first donation was for this prize as well! On top of that, the donation was in excess of the actual donation request! If this sounds crazy, I also must tell you that it also happened within minutes of me making the KickStarter page live, before I even told people online it was good to go! I was shocked! That person was Heather. Heather’s a pretty cool ska fan and she’s brought to you some awesome ’90s ska to share. As you can tell she obviously knows her stuff and I’m pretty pleased to add this episode to my archive as the first (but not last) episode done by someone other than me. I’m not always the best at sharing, but Heather made it really easy with this fun mix! Oddly, I’m not sure if Heather and I met before back in the Midwest in the ’90s/’00s at a some show or not (I was usually drunk &/or too tired to remember anything but the music), but either way, I know her now through this podcast, and bringing people together through music, isn’t that part of what makes the ska scene awesome?

Rudiments – Spoon (Skank for Brains ’95)
Johnny Socko – If I Didn’t Have a Goiter (Oh, I do Hope It’s Roast Beef! ’95)
Ska King Crab – Inspector Gadget (Mission to Mars ’96)
One Eye Open – Paul Sharrar (Misfits of Ska comp ’95)
Mustard Plug – Thigh High Nylons (Big Daddy Multitude ’93)
the Exceptions – Angel Unreleased (Five Finger Discount ’96)
Vic Ruggiero – Always on My Mind (live) (Hellcat.com Slackers promo video ’99)
Telegraph – Rude Girl (10 Songs & Then Some : the Skolars Collected: 93-96 ’97)

If you’re in a ska band and would like to be interviewed or have a song featured, please email me at radjose[at]gmail[dot]com.

This episode and all episodes can always be found here. You can also subscribe to the podcast by going to your advanced tab on iTunes, then select “subscribe to podcast…” and entering this address: http://23minofska.podomatic.com/rss2.xml into the box that opens. Also if you’d like, find & like us on facebook. Take Heather’s hard work with you and download this episode!

Also, hit up www.BigSkaGamble.com for 7 awesome ska 7″ records! Heather did, look where she is now! Making an episode of 23min of Ska and being SO AWESOME!

One response to “Beat the Dealer : Heather’s 23 Minutes

  1. Where can I get the mp3 for the vic ruggiero track? hint hint…

Leave a Reply

