23min of Ska : Keeping it Hep

On January 23rd, 2010 I posted my first episode of 23min of Ska online. It was a bit of fun and I thought I’d do a few episodes a month for a few years, get it out of my system, and move on. Get what out of my system? Why, to share ska w/ folks! Well, I should’ve known that idea was flawed, if I wanted to end after a short time, because (spoiler) I LOVE SHARING SKA w/ FOLKS, so here we are, 12 years later… and whoa… yeah… 12 years… I’ve moved 3 times and have gotten married since I started this thing… I don’t know what to do w/ that info other than say, I hope all of you all are enjoying it, and happy anniversary to 23min of Ska!

00:00 – Voluntary Hazing – Reciprocate Some (Reciprocate Some ’22)
03:10 – the Slackers – I Almost Lost You (Windowland / I Almost Lost You ’21)
05:43 – Norsk Råkk – De Beste Laget (Balansekunstnere ’20)
07:09 – the Co-Operators & Perkie – Concrete, Steel & Stone (Beating the Doldrums ’20)
12:22 – the Operators – Lil Darlin’ (Leave the Light On ’21)
16:32 – Smoke & Mirrors Soundsystem – I’m a Man (Mi Vida Sin Tu Amor / I’m a Man ’21)
20:11 – the Third-Rates – Roller Coasters (Fate Fell Short: a Blink-182 Compilation comp ’22)

Show support for the bands by clicking on those links and checking out their websites and music! Show support for the podcast by liking & following the podcast on FacebookTwitterInstagram, and at 23ska.com. Also, feel free to subscribe and listen to the podcast on iTunes and Stitcher.

Another way to support this podcast is to listen to and support our sister podcast On the Upbeat!

Download this episode so you can listen to it any time you’d like!

23min of Ska is produced weekly by RJ Phoenix
Want to submit your band? Email: submissions@23ska.com
(no Spotify or Youtube links please)
Have something else to say? Email: podcast@23ska.com

One response to “23min of Ska : Keeping it Hep

  1. shantydan@netzero.net

    I love S&MSS…this one with Jesse is superb.My dear friend the late Jimmy Miller wrote it with Stevie Winwood.

Leave a comment